Advisory Group and Critical Friends

The following Advisory Group provided valuable advice and feedback throughout the whole fellowship. Their support and encouragement is acknowledged with gratitude.

*Please note that the title and position of the Advisory Group members and Critical Friends are listed as they were during the Fellowship. Several have moved to different positions and institutions since that time.They are listed alphabetically.


Dr Kathleen Clapham

Professor of Indigenous Health

Australian Health Services Research Institute

University of Wollongong


Sally Farrington

Human Life Sciences, Rozelle Campus

The University of Tasmania

Lecturer in Human Bioscience


Chris Heelan

Director, Centre for Indigenous Education

The University of Melbourne


Dr Zane Ma Rhea

Senior Lecturer, Faculty of Education

Monash University


Professor Janet Mooney

Institute for Positive Psychology and Education

Australian Catholic University


Dr Sandy O’Sullivan

Senior Indigenous Researcher, Research Leader (Creative Arts)

Batchelor Institute of Indigenous Tertiary Education


Associate Professor Susan Page

Warawara Department of Indigenous Studies

Macquarie University


Associate Professor Gary Thomas

Associate Director, Academic-Indigenous Knowledge

Chancellery, Learning and Teaching Unit

Queensland University of Technology


These Critical Friends provided guidance at key points throughout the fellowship.


Professor Ian Anderson

Pro Vice Chancellor Engagement

Foundation Chair Indigenous Higher Education

The University of Melbourne


Professor Henry Atkinson

Faculty of Education

Monash University


Professor Michael Christie

Professor of Education

Charles Darwin University


Professor Lynette Russell

Chair, Centre for Australian Indigenous Studies

Monash University


Dr Michelle Evans

Senior Lecturer in Leadership

Charles Sturt University


Associate Professor Susan Green

School of Social Sciences, Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences

The University of New South Wales


Professor Marcia Langton

Chair of Australian Indigenous Studies, Melbourne School of Population Health

The University of Melbourne


Professor Martin Nakata

Director, Nura Gili

The University of New South Wales